The Ilocos Agriculture and Resources Research and Development Consortium (ILARRDEC) was created on December 21, 1979 when a memorandum of agreement (MOA) was signed between the Mariano Marcos State University (MMSU) its base and lead agency with three other agencies. ILARRDEC started as the Ilocos Agricultural Research Center (ILIARC) and gradually metamorphosed into the Ilocos Agriculture and Resources Research Center (ILARRC) in 1985 and finally knot its present name in 1988. Today, the consortium is composed of 18 strong and cohesive agencies and has become a viable steward of R&D in the Ilocos Region.

The four founding members are the Mariano Marcos State University (MMSU), which is the lead agency; the erstwhile Cotton Research and Development Institute (CRDI), now the Cottton Development Administration (CODA); the erstwhile Philippine Tobacco Research and Training Center, now part of the National Tobacco Administration (NTA); and the Philippine Council for Agriculture, Forestry and Natural Resources Research and Development (PCARRD)

To date, the member agencies are as follows: Mariano Marcos State University (MMSU), Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State University (DMMMSU), Pangasinan State University (PSU); University of Northern Philippines (UNP), Ilocos Sur Polytechnic State College (ISPSC), Union Christian College of Northern Development Organization for Rural Action (UCC-CONDORA); Department of Agriculture (DA)-1, National Tobacco Administration (NTA), Cotton Development Administration (CODA), Philippine Carabao Center (PCC), Bureau of Agricultural Research (BAR), Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR)-1, Ecosystems Research and Development Bureau (ERDB), Department of Science and Technology (DOST)-1, PCARRD, National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA), Philippine Rice Research Institute (PhilRice) in Batac City, Ilocos Norte,Northwestern University (NWU) and Agricultural Training Institute (ATI).