27th Regional Symposium on R&D Highlights successfully held

img_2643_400ILAARRDEC in cooperation with Pangasinan State University as the host, successfully conducted the 27th Regional Symposium on R&D Highlights held at the Sison Auditorium, Lingayen, Pangasinan last November 19-20, 2015. With the theme "S&T Challenges Beyond the New Normal", highlights of the event are presentation of 19 research and 12 development papers for oral category 32 posters for poster category, and 12 undergraduate theses for undergraduate category.

The said event were attended by various researchers, extentionists, students, and faculty from the different SUCs in the region; FITS Center staff and Magsasaka Siyentista from various LGUs; CMA heads and representatives; special guests; and other participating agencies.

img_2578_400_01Dr. Reynaldo V. Ebora, Acting Executive Director of PCAARRD served as the keynote speaker of the event. With him is the Deputy Executive Director Dr. Danilo Cardenas who also joined in a dinner meeting hosted by Dr. Artemio Rebugio of PSU together with various CMA heads and representative on the evening of November 18.

img_5545_400Plenary speakers were also invited in the said occasion. Among of them are Mr. Johnny Khonghun of Pacific Farms Inc., Mr. Arsenio Barcelona of Harbest Agribusiness Inc., and Dr. Fiorello Abenes of RTI International.

Winners of the symposium was awarded during the last day of the event. First place under Undergraduate Category for Agriculture was awarded to Mr. John Lester Butac of MMSU. While the first place under aquatic category was awarded to  M.A. De Vera and M.G. Ramos also from MMSU. Meanwhile, for oral presentation under research category, the paper of Dr. Shirley Agrupis et al. of MMSU got the first place while under the development category, the paper of Dr. Jinnie Mamhot et al. of DMMMSU got the first place. On the hand, the poster of Ms. Glisten Faith Pascua et al. of MMSU got the first place under poster category. For the poster research category, Dr. Cynthia Rogriguez et al. of DMMMSU got the first place and the poster of Dr. Agrupis et al. also got the first place under poster development category.

img_6118_400img_5624_400Evaluators for the oral presentation are Dr. Edna Anit and Dr. Jose Tomas Cabagay of PCAARRD, Dr. Ernesto Martin, Dr. Rosemarie Tapic, and Ms. Rosalie Galang of Central Luzon State University. While the evaluators for poster and undergraduate category are Ms. Geraldine Casipit and Ms. Mayrose Quezon of CHED-RO1, Engr. Sulamita Catalan of DOST-RO1, Engr. Florendo Calamaan of Philippine Fiber Industry Development, Ms. Nelly Castro of National Tobacco Administration, and Ms. Mariz Dafnae Mendoza of NEDA-RO1.